News and Events


Dr. Vadim J. Gurvich and his collaborator, Dr. George L. Wilcox of the Medical School, received an Office of Academic Clinical Affairs Faculty Research Development Grant for their project “Synthesis and characterization of a novel bivalent peripherally directed analgesic."



Dr. Kathy Nelson has received an R21 award of $227,512 for her project titled, "Chemical Probes as Allosteric Modulators of CK2 Alpha Prime Targeting Huntington's Disease". This is a collaborative project with Dr. Rocio Gomez-Pastor of the Department of Neuroscience in the Medical School.

On July 1st of 2020, Dr. Daniel Harki, became the director of graduate studies (DGS) for the Department of Medicinal Chemistry, assuming the role from Dr. Barry Finzel who served as DGS for three years. 

Congratulations to graduate student Connor McDermott of the Ambrose lab for completing the Equity and Diversity Certificate Program from the University's Office for Equity and Diversity.

Adam Duerfeldt seated with bookshelf behind him

Associate professor Adam Duerfeldt, PhD, joined the College of Pharmacy’s Department of Medicinal Chemistry on Dec. 28, 2020. 

Dr. Gunda Georg was quoted in the recent Nature article "Stopping Sperm at the Source" discussing her research into the development of a male contraceptive. From the article,

Three of our graduate students were selected to receive the 2020-2021 Bighley Graduate Fellowship: Erik Faber (Georg Lab), Jian Tang (Harki Lab), and Nan Wang (Georg Lab). The fellowship supports exceptional graduate students working in the biomedical health sciences with an emphasis on collaborative and interdisciplinary work.

Dr. Kathryn Nelson has been selected to receive the Wallin Neuroscience Discovery Award as co-PI for her project "Bringing Breakthroughs in Alzheimer’s Disease to American Indian Communities." The award will provide $99,970 in total funding for the year. 

A new 5-year R01 grant from the NIH/NICHD was awarded to Dr. Gunda Georg for the discovery of NaK-ATPase alpha4 inhibitors for non-hormonal male contraception. This is a collaborative project with Professor Gustavo Blanco at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Pooja Hegde, a graduate student in the Aldrich lab, received an award for her entry in the University's 3-Minute Thesis Competition. Pooja was awarded the Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Education's Choice Award, which includes a $500 travel grant, for her thesis presentation "“Making PAS Great Again.”