Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Students in Lab

The Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences (PPPS) is one of five academic departments within the College of Pharmacy and is geographically located on the University of Minnesota Duluth campus. PPPS is an interdisciplinary department with faculty engaged in scholarship, practice and teaching across disciplines encompassing clinical, basic, and social sciences.

Our vision is to lead, serve, and partner with diverse communities to create tailored solutions for a healthy Greater Minnesota and beyond.

Our mission We educate pharmacists to promote the health of diverse populations in Minnesota’s rural communities through advancing interdisciplinary Pharmacy Practice, education, and Pharmaceutical Sciences research.

Graduate Studies

PPPS faculty are actively involved in a number of graduate programs within the College of Pharmacy and Medical School. They currently hold graduate faculty appointments in these programs:

The Minnesota PharmD

University of Minnesota Doctor of Pharmacy students become pharmacists who are generalist pharmacy practitioners prepared to identify, resolve and prevent drug related problems.  Students learn to provide patient care to achieve positive drug therapy outcomes that improve the quality of patients’ lives.


The hands of someone wearing a white lab coat are holding two different blister packages of medications. Underneath, there is an open drawer with other medical supplies.
In this Q&A, Dr. Mark Schneiderhan talks about mental health medications and debunks common myths.
Keri Hager

Dr. Keri Hager, co-associate dean for clinical affairs, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences, has been selected as an inductee into the Academy for Excellence in Clinical Practice.

Dr. Olihe Okoro Headshot

Dr. Olihe Okoro is 2022 recipient of the University of Minnesota President's Community-Engaged Scholar Award

Dr. Olihe Okoro Headshot

Earlier this year, Dr. Olihe Okoro, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Pharmaceutical Sciences was named a 2021-2024 McKnight Presidential Fellow.

Barbara Brandt and Mark Schneiderhan Headshots

Barbara Brandt, PhD, and Mark Schneiderhan, PharmD, BCCP, have been inducted into the Academies of Excellence.