News and Events


Deborah Rodriguez of the Harki lab has been selected to receive the 2020 Twin Cities Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers Scholarship! You can read more about her accomplishments here and here

Dr. Vadim Gurvich and his researchers Dr. Ricardo Gallardo-Macias and Andrew Goode are featured in the recent Minnesota Daily article "UMN Collaboration Produces Thousands of Gallons Hand Sanitizer." The Institute for Therapeutics Discovery and Development scientists have been working in collaboration with M Health Fairview to produce hand sanitizer to the FDA's specifications. The lab has been producing and testing roughly 75 gallons each day for use within the University of Minnesota's hospital system. 

Four of our Medicinal Chemistry graduate students were recently annouced as winners of the Outstanding TA Award from the College of Pharmacy! Students Abhishek Kulkarni, Bill McCue, Connor McDermott, and Nick Weirath were all honored for Spring 2020. 

Dr. Leigh Allen Headshot

Congratulations to Dr. Leigh Allen, Assistant to the Department Head, for her election to the Academic Professionals and Administrators (P&A) Senate as an alternate Senator.  The P&A Senate is an elected body that represents and acts on behalf of around 6,500 P&As at the University, enabling participation in the University's Governance. Dr. Allen will serve as an alternate Senator representing the College of Pharmacy from July 1, 2020–June 30, 2023.

ACS Webinar Graphic

Join Drs. Jonathan Lai (Albert Einstein College of Medicine), Raymond Forslund (Syner-G), and our own Courtney Aldrich as moderator as they discuss the scientific aspects of the current COVID-19 pandemic. Discussion will include an overview of the virus and therapeutic strategies regarding vaccines, antivirals, serum strategies, and timelines, as well as an understanding of why has this become a pandemic.

Headshot of Caitlin Boley

Congratulations to our Graduate Program Coordinator Caitlin Boley who was selected to serve as Co-Chair for the Graduate Program Coordinators Network (GPCN) Leadership Committee! The GPCN is a forum that allows GPCs to better communicate across decentralized campuses and facilitates the sharing of best practices, knowledge, and skill development.  

Graduate Student Anand Divakaran

Congratulations to graduate student Anand Divakaran of the Pomerantz Laboratory for receiving a 2020-21 Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship! The fellowship's aim is to give the University's most accomplished Ph.D. candidates an opportunity to devote full-time effort to an outstanding research project.

Carston Wagner

Congratulations to Dr. Carston (Rick) Wagner who was awarded a National Institutes of Health R01 grant for his project "Targeting Primary Tumor and Cancer Stem Cells with Chemically Self-Assembled Nanoring Based Immunotherapy." In addition, his application for this grant received a highly-coveted 1% score from the NIH. The grant will cover $2.8 million for research for 5 years. 

Headshots of Dr. Philip Portoghese (left) and Dr. Carrie Haskell-Luevano (right).

Congratulations to Dr. Carrie Haskell-Luevano and Dr. Philip Portoghese who were awarded a National Institutes of Health R01 Grant for their project "Chemical Biology of Peptide Regulation of Opioid Receptor Function." The grant will cover $3.5 million for research for 5 years. 

portrait of Don Uden

The University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy mourns the loss of Don Uden, PharmD, professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems, who died on Saturday, March 21.