Celebrating Teaching

The faculty at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy have a long and rich history of teaching excellence and innovation.  Our faculty have been honored with College Teaching Awards University Teaching Awards and National Teaching Awards.

National Teaching Awards

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Excellence in Assessment Award

2012: Program Level Assessment of Lifelong Learning Skill Development through Informed Planning and Ongoing Improvements in a Continuing Professional Development Portfolio Process
Lead: Dr. Kristin Janke

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Innovations in Teaching
University of Minnesota Award Recipients

innovation award

Since its start in 1993, teams from the University of Minnesota have received the AACP Innovations in Teaching Award seven (7) times.

2015: When Drug Literature Evaluation Isn’t Enough: Implementing a Longitudinal Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Sequence with a First-Year Milestone EBM Assessment
Lead: Dr. Shannon Reidt

2010: Defining a Learning Process for Strengths Education in Pharmacy: An Eight Year Journey
Lead: Dr. Kristin Janke, Article

2006: An Internet-Based Medical Chart for Documentation and Evaluation of Students' Simulated Patient Care Activities: Initial Development and Integration into the Curriculum
Lead: Dr. Michael Brown, Article 

2005: Interprofessional Standardized Patient Experiences
Lead: Dr. Sarah Westberg, Article 

2002: EPhECT - A Longitudinal Service Learning Experience
Lead: Dr. Michael Brown, Article

2000: Use of Real Patients with Asthma within a Pathophysiology and Therapeutics Course: Longitudinal Pharmaceutical Care Experience.
Lead: Dr. Mary Beth O’Connell

1999: Use of a Student-Driven, University-Based Pharmaceutical Care Clinic to Define the Highest Standards for Patient Care.
Lead: Dr. Brian Isetts, Article

American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Section/SIG Recognitions and Awards

2017 Experiential Education Section Award of Excellence in Experiential Education

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS)

2010: American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Outstanding Educator Award, recognizing excellence in education in the technologies related to pharmaceuticals
Dr. Raj Suryanarayanan

University of Minnesota Teaching Awards

University of Minnesota Award for Outstanding Contributions to Post-baccalaureate, Professional, and Graduate Education

2012-13 Ronald Hadsall, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
2009-10 Rory P. Remmel, PhD, Department of Medicinal Chemistry
2008-09 Jon C. Schommer, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
2007-08 Richard C. Brundage, PhD, Department of Experimental & Clinical Pharmacology
2004-05 Raj G. Suryanarayanan, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutics
2002-03 Donald L. Uden, PharmD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems

University of Minnesota Horace T. Morse-Minnesota Alumni Association Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education
1965-66 – 1997-98

1991-92 Raj G. Suryanarayanan, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutics
1990-91 Nina M. Graves, PharmD, Department of Pharmacy Practice
1988-89 Cheryl L. Zimmerman, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutics
1985-86 Ronald J. Sawchuk, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutics
1984-85 Mahmoud M. Abdel-Monem, PhD, Department of Medicinal Chemistry
1980-81 James C. Cloyd, PharmD, Department of Pharmacy Practice
1978-79 Patrick E. Hanna, PhD, Department of Medicinal Chemistry
1976-77 James G. Henkel
1968-69 John D. McRae

University Academic Health Center’s Academy for Excellence in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

2015 Amy L. Pittenger, PharmD, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
2011 Kristin K. Janke, PhD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
2008 Michael C. Brown, PharmD, Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems

Publication Awards

UMN Education-Related Publication Awards

*UMN Authors in Bold

Lyman Award (Best Paper in the American Journal for Pharmaceutical Education)  

2022: Campbell HE, Hagan AM, Gaither CA. Addressing the Need for Ethnic and Racial Diversity in the Pipeline for Pharmacy Faculty. Am J Pharm Educ. 2021 Oct;85(9):8586. doi: 10.5688/ajpe8586. 

2020: Kolar C, Janke KK.  Aiding Transformation from Student to Practitioner by Defining Threshold Concepts for the Pharmacists’ Patient Care Process.  Am J Pharm Educ.  2019: 83(8): Article 7335.  doi: 10.5688/ajpe7335

2012: Kelley KA, Stanke LD, Rabi SM, Kuba SE, Janke KK.  Cross-Validation of an Instrument for Measuring Professionalism Behaviors.  Am J Pharm Educ.  2011; 75(9): Article 179. doi: 10.5688/ajpe759179

AACP Curriculum Special Interest Group Publication Award

2023:  2nd Place.  Janke KK, Thornby KA, Brittan K, Churchwell M, Hill-Besinque K, Park SK, Smith H.  Embarking as Captain of the Ship for the Curriculum Committee.  Am J Pharm Educ.  2022; 86(4): Article 8692.  doi: 10.5688/ajpe8692

Team-Based Learning Collaborative Best Paper Award (Research Category) 

2021: Janke KK, Bechtol RA, James S, Lepp G, Moote R, Clapp P.  Determining Indicators of High-Quality Application Activities for Team-Based Learning.  Am J Pharm Educ. 2019; 83(9): Article 7109.  doi: 10.5688/ajpe7109.

AACP Leadership Development Special Interest Group Best Publication Award

2023 for a Three Part Series:  1) Maxwell WD, Fierke KK, Zumach GM. A Virtual "Think Tank" to Establish Collaborative Leadership Initiative Plans ("CLIPs"). Innov Pharm. 2022 Dec 12;13(2):10.24926/iip.v13i2.4300. doi: 10.24926/iip.v13i2.4300.  2) Maxwell WD, Fierke KK, Zumach GM. Outcomes of a "virtual think tank" to establish collaborative leadership initiative plans ("CLIPs"). Explor Res Clin Soc Pharm. 2024 Jan 18;13:100409. doi: 10.1016/j.rcsop.2024.100409.  3) Zumach GM, Maxwell WD, Fierke KK. Virtual Social Networking Hours: A Vital Personal and Professional Avenue for Connecting Pharmacy Leadership Educators. Innov Pharm. 2022 Dec 26;13(4):10.24926/iip.v13i4.4831. doi: 10.24926/iip.v13i4.4831. 

2014: Janke KKTraynor AP, Boyle CJ.  Competencies for Student Leadership Development in Doctor of Pharmacy Curricula to Assist Curriculum Committees and Leadership Instructors.  Am J Pharm Educ, 2013; 77(10): Article 222. doi: 10.5688/ajpe7710222

AACP Social and Administrative Sciences (SAS) Best Teaching and Learning Publication Award

2023: Janke KK, Bechtol RA, Dy-Boarman E, Nelson M.  Capturing employers’ perceptions of key variables in exceptional new practitioners’ success using a modified Delphi process.  Curr Pharm Teach Learn.  2022; 14(4): 397-406. doi: 10.1016/j.cptl.2022.03.009

2016: Janke KK, Kelley KA, Sweet BV, Kuba SE. A Modified Delphi Process to Define Competencies for Assessment Leads Supporting a Doctor of Pharmacy Program.  Am J Pharm Educ.  2016;80(10): Article 167. doi: 10.5688/ajpe8010167

AACP Social and Administrative Sciences (SAS) Best Research Publication Award

2018: Aronson BD, Janke KK.  Measuring a State of Mind Indicative of Thriving using the Student Pharmacist Inventory of Professional Engagement (S-PIPE).  Res Social Adm Pharm.  2018;14(7):678-685. doi: 10.1016/j.sapharm.2017.08.004