News and Events


Natalia Tretyakova

Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers, and recognizes efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished.

Dr. Natalia Tretyakova is coauthor on a number of articles published this October. Her coauthors include Medicinal Chemistry graduate students and postdocs Amanda Degner, Suresh Pujari, Christopher Seiler, Jenna Fernandez, Zoe Koerperich, and Shaofei Ji. You can read the abstracts below:

Dr. Rory Remmel is a coauthor on two articles recently published in the journal Clinical Transplantation on kidney transplantation:

Dr. Vadim Gurvich of the Institute for Therapeutics Discovery and Development is the principal investigator on a newly-awarded $647,667 National Institutes of Health contract for the development of a next-generation antidepressant. The work will be carried out in collaboration with Purdue University and a private company.

Dr. Jonathan L. Vennerstrom, an alumnus of the Medicinal Chemistry graduate program, has been awarded the American Chemical Society's 2019 Award for Creative Invention. Dr. Vennerstrom received his Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota in 1985 with Dr. Thomas Holmes as his thesis advisor. He is now a Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. ACS Award recipients will be honored at the 257th ACS National Meeting in Orlando, FL on April 2nd, 2019.

Congratulations to Katlyn Fleming of the Haskell-Luevano Lab, who was awarded the 2018-2019 Rowell Graduate Fellowship! The fellowship was established by the family of pharmaceutical industrialist Theodore H. Rowell to support graduate students in the pharmaceutical sciences with an emphasis on drug delivery systems.  


Congratulations to Sara Coulup (Georg Lab) and Jian Tang (Harki Lab), who were both selected to receive the 2018-2019 Bighley Graduate Fellowship! The fellowship was established in 2008 by Dr. Lyle D. Bighley and Sharon Bighley as a way to support graduate students working in the biomedical health sciences. It recognizes excellence in students conducting research in laboratories with an emphasis on collaborative and interdisciplinary work.


Congratulations to Kellan Passow, graduate student in the Harki laboratory, who was awarded the American Chemical Society, Minnesota Section Travel Grant! The grant will provide funds for Kellan to attend the Fall 2018 ACS meeting in Boston, Massachusetts where he will make a presentation on his research. 

The research of Dr. Carston Wagner and his lab was featured in a recent Minnesota Daily article titled "UMN Researchers Attacking Cancer Cells with Nanotechnology." The article highlights the Wagner lab's steps towards clinical trials, in discussion with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, for their nanoring therapy. The nanotherapy modifies the user's own T cells in order to reactivate the immune system to target cancer cells. Unlike other methods to kill tumor cells, the nanoring therapy is reversible and does not carry long-term risks.

Professor Rory Remmel attended the 49th Gordon Research Conference in Drug Metabolism last week at Holderness Academy near Plymouth, New Hampshire. Dr. Swati Nagar (recently promoted to full professor at Temple University) chaired the meeting.  She was a PHD student of Professor Emeritus Cheryl Zimmerman and co-advised by Dr. Remmel.  Three of Dr. Remmel's former PhD students, Vinayak Hosagrahara, Upendra Argikar, and Aaron Teitelbaum were also in attendance.  Dr. Steven Leeder (Minnesota PharmD, 1982) was elected as the academic vice chair.