News and Events


Dr. Vadim Gurvich Headshot

Dr. Vadim Gurvich's work, along with Drs. Ricardo Battaglino and Leslie Morse of the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine,  is highlighted in a recent post by the Medical School, "Anticancer Drug May Be More Effective in Treating COVID-19 than Remdesivir." The team began studying the anticancer drug apilimod's effects on COVID-19 and earned a grant to fund their research.

Aldrich Research Group

Dr. Courtney Aldrich has been elected to serve a three-year term as a College of Pharmacy faculty representative on the University Senate and the College Faculty Consultative Committee.

Md Abdullah Al Noman headshot

Md Abdullah Al Noman, PhD candidate, has been named a 2020 Male Contraceptive Initiative (MCI) Fellow by the Male Contraceptive Initiative.

Elizabeth A Ambrose

Dr. Elizabeth Ambrose has been elected to a three-year term on the University Senate as a College of Pharmacy representative. The University Senate governance system provides an opportunity for diverse voices of the University community to participate in discussions and weigh in on key issues facing the University.  

Deborah Rodriguez of the Harki lab has been selected to receive the 2020 Twin Cities Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers Scholarship! You can read more about her accomplishments here and here

Dr. Vadim Gurvich and his researchers Dr. Ricardo Gallardo-Macias and Andrew Goode are featured in the recent Minnesota Daily article "UMN Collaboration Produces Thousands of Gallons Hand Sanitizer." The Institute for Therapeutics Discovery and Development scientists have been working in collaboration with M Health Fairview to produce hand sanitizer to the FDA's specifications. The lab has been producing and testing roughly 75 gallons each day for use within the University of Minnesota's hospital system. 

Four of our Medicinal Chemistry graduate students were recently annouced as winners of the Outstanding TA Award from the College of Pharmacy! Students Abhishek Kulkarni, Bill McCue, Connor McDermott, and Nick Weirath were all honored for Spring 2020. 

Dr. Leigh Allen Headshot

Congratulations to Dr. Leigh Allen, Assistant to the Department Head, for her election to the Academic Professionals and Administrators (P&A) Senate as an alternate Senator.  The P&A Senate is an elected body that represents and acts on behalf of around 6,500 P&As at the University, enabling participation in the University's Governance. Dr. Allen will serve as an alternate Senator representing the College of Pharmacy from July 1, 2020–June 30, 2023.

ACS Webinar Graphic

Join Drs. Jonathan Lai (Albert Einstein College of Medicine), Raymond Forslund (Syner-G), and our own Courtney Aldrich as moderator as they discuss the scientific aspects of the current COVID-19 pandemic. Discussion will include an overview of the virus and therapeutic strategies regarding vaccines, antivirals, serum strategies, and timelines, as well as an understanding of why has this become a pandemic.

Headshot of Caitlin Boley

Congratulations to our Graduate Program Coordinator Caitlin Boley who was selected to serve as Co-Chair for the Graduate Program Coordinators Network (GPCN) Leadership Committee! The GPCN is a forum that allows GPCs to better communicate across decentralized campuses and facilitates the sharing of best practices, knowledge, and skill development.