Drs. William Elmquist and Todd Sorensen Receive UMN 2020-2021 Distinguished Teaching Award

March 29, 2021

William Elmquist and Todd Sorensen Headshots

Minneapolis, Minn.

Mar. 29, 2021

William Elmquist, PharmD, PhD, distinguished professor in the Department of Pharmaceutics, and Todd Sorensen, PharmD, FAPhA, FCCP, senior executive associate dean for strategic initiatives and faculty affairs and professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems, have both received the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education as part of the University of Minnesota 2020-2021 Distinguished Teaching Awards. 

This award was established in 1999 to “recognize contributions to graduate and professional education. Recipients are chosen for excellence in instruction; involvement of students in research, scholarship, and professional development; development of instructional programs; and advising and mentoring of students.” Elmquist and Sorensen will be inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers and carry the designation of Distinguished University Teaching Professor throughout their careers at the University of Minnesota.

In their nomination of Elmquist, Raj Suryanarayanan, PhD, and Ron Siegel, ScD wrote, “[His] exceptional feedback from students, postdocs, and peers, shows the outstanding depth of his dedication and the high impact of his contributions. Students, long after leaving the program, remember the outstanding training that they received from Dr. Elmquist.”

In her nomination of Sorensen, Amy Pittenger, PharmD, MS, PhD, noted, “it is evident the positive impact Dr. Sorensen has made on the lives of students, residents, faculty and the profession of pharmacy through his teaching, mentoring, advising and innovative approaches to education.”

Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy