Randall Seifert to Receive Weaver Medal

March 9, 2017

Randy Seifert

This distinguished award recognizes service to education, the profession, research and the community.

MINNEAPOLIS/MINNESOTA — Randall Seifert, PharmD, senior associate dean and professor at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, has been selected as the 2016 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal recipient. The award is given annually to someone who supports the college and its students through service to education, the profession, research and the community.

A faculty member since 2005, Seifert was recognized for providing outstanding contributions to education, the pharmacy profession, research and the community.

Below are excerpts from his award nominations:

"His dedication to the college, the profession and the state of Minnesota is significant and sustained. Through his contributions to the College of Pharmacy, he has developed strong external and internal relationships, nurtured, developed and supported nascent programs, mentored numerous faculty, staff and students, built strong relationships with alumni, brought financial support to the college, led the development of the Duluth campus missions, and advocated for the college and profession through the University, national and state professional organizations, and the legislature."

"He has taken his role as an educator and a mentor extremely serious over the years I have known him. This role may often start in the classroom, but the greatest impact Randy has on most students is the knowledge and experience he offers students outside of it. Dr. Seifert creates unique opportunities for students to understand the business of advancing clinical pharmacy and the role of relationship development in patient care."

"Dr. Seifert focused on development of clinical practice sites for our practice faculty, as well as our student pharmacists. This in itself helped to expand the role of pharmacists in the Northland, but restricted access to such practices to a narrow group of practitioners. To expand clinical opportunities for current and future pharmacists, Randy has worked diligently with colleagues and students to expand the reimbursement for MTM services to community members throughout the Northland. These efforts resulted in a number of payers adding MTM to their benefits packages and created countless opportunities for pharmacists."

"MPhA in the last decade experienced significant financial stress due to numerous trends experienced by many state pharmacy associations...[As MPhA president], Randy's willingness to help ensure MPhA's survival cannot be understated. He led the volunteer Board and Committees during a significant gap in staffing for the association and managed to assist in creating a strategic plan and bring resources to bear that would allow MPhA to get back on solid footing."

Join The Celebration

The Weaver Medal Reception honoring Seifert will be held in the Twin Cities on April 19, 4-6 p.m. at the Commons Hotel Pinnacle Ballroom; and in Duluth on April 26, 5-7 p.m. at Greysolon Ballroom in the Moorish Room. RSVP now

For more information, contact jward-de@umn.edu or 612-625-4657.

Categories: Announcements


Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy