National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education granted Joint Accreditation with Commendation

March 2, 2022

 Joint Accreditation Logo


Mar. 2, 2022

The National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education was awarded Joint Accreditation with Commendation as a provider of continuing education for the interprofessional team by the governing bodies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Accreditation Program (ANCC). The National Center received a six-year reaccreditation because of its demonstration of exemplary performance and commitment to developing and implementing student and patient-engaged and evidence-based programming.

In 2020, the National Center formed the National Center Office of Interprofessional Continuing Professional Development with the University of Minnesota School of Nursing and the College of Pharmacy to advance the continuum of professional and interprofessional lifelong learning through innovation, research and continuous quality improvement.

“With a commitment to advancing interprofessional practice and education, we are honored to be recognized by the Joint Accreditation as a premier provider of continuing education for the health care team and look forward to continuing to advance how teams deliver care with a focus on what matters most to those they serve,” said Christine Arenson, MD, National Center director.  

“The School of Nursing celebrates the National Center's commitment to developing and implementing student and patient-engaged professional development that advances interprofessional care to improve the health and well-being of all,” says Connie White Delaney, PhD, RN, FAAN, FACMI, FNAP, dean of the School of Nursing.

"The National Center is a true gem in our University community and these commendations come as no surprise. The College of Pharmacy is privileged to collaborate with them and the School of Nursing, not only from the standpoint of interprofessional leadership, education and practice, but also in the realm of workforce development and continuing education," said Lynda Welage, PharmD, FCCP, dean of the College of Pharmacy. 

The Joint Accreditation awards Accreditation with Commendation to recognize and celebrate organizations that excel as continuing education providers. In receiving the recognition, the National Center complied with all standard criteria and newly adopted criteria, including efforts to: 

  • Engage patients and students as planners and teachers

  • Address factors beyond clinical care, such as social determinants of health, that affect the health of patients

  • Collaborate with organizations to address population health issues

  • Optimize communication skills of learners

  • Create opportunities for learners to develop individualized learning plans 

By awarding the National Center with this honor, the Joint Accreditation has demonstrated that the National Center is a learning organization that provides relevant, interprofessional, practice-based continuing education that positively impacts health across the country. 

To learn more about the National Center and Joint Accreditation, please visit their official announcement page.


Founded in 1892, the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy is the only pharmacy school in Minnesota, with campuses in the Twin Cities and in Duluth. The College of Pharmacy improves health through innovative education, pioneering research and interdisciplinary practice development that attends to the diverse needs of the people of Minnesota and the world.

The National Center was launched at the University of Minnesota in 2012 as a public-private partnership to guide the nation on the use of interprofessional education and collaborative practice as a way to enhance the experience of health care, improve population health and reduce the overall cost of care.  The National Center has been a jointly accredited provider of continuing education since 2015.

Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy