Dr. Changquan Calvin Sun Elected AAAS Fellow

Jan. 31, 2023

Dr. Changquan Calvin Sun, professor and associate department head for the Department of Pharmaceutics, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers, and recognizes efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications that are scientifically or socially distinguished. Sun was elected in the Section on Pharmaceutical Sciences for distinguished contributions to the field of drug delivery and dosage form design.

“It is a great encouragement to have our research in solving pharmaceutical problems through integrated materials science and engineering appreciated and honored by not only the pharmaceutical industry, but also the science community at large,” said Sun. “We will continue our efforts in this direction to facilitate the design and manufacture of high quality medicines by solving many more practical problems.”

By introducing new characterization tools and applying crystal and particle engineering techniques, Sun has solved several long-standing problems in tablet manufacturing.  He is known for his transformative and systematic work leading to the efficient design of high quality and low cost medicines.

Sun now joins eight other AAAS Fellows from the College of Pharmacy: Dr. Gunda Georg, Dr. Patrick Hanna, Dr. Rodney Johnson, Dr. Philip Portoghese, Dr. Tom Shier, Dr. Robert Vince, Dr. Carston (Rick) Wagner, and Dr. Natalia Tretyakova.

Sun and his esteemed fellow counterparts, including several others from the University of Minnesota, will be celebrated in Washington D.C., in summer 2023.


College of Pharmacy, pharm@umn.edu

Founded in 1892, the University of Minnesota, College of Pharmacy is the only pharmacy school in Minnesota, with campuses in the Twin Cities and in Duluth. The College of Pharmacy improves health through innovative education, pioneering research and interdisciplinary practice development that attends to the diverse needs of the people of Minnesota and the world.