Rowan Mahon Receives President's Student Leadership and Service Award, and Mary A. McEvoy Award

April 16, 2019

Rowan Mahon

Congratulations to third-year student Rowan Mahon on her selection as a 2019 President's Student Leadership and Service Award (PSLSA) recipient. The award recognizes her exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community.

Additionally, Mahon is one of just two PSLSA recipients to also receive the Mary A. McEvoy Public Engagement and Leadership Award. This award recognizes Mahon’s leadership and public engagement above and beyond her normal duties and responsibilities, as well as her demonstrated dedication and assistance that benefit an individual, group or community, or strengthen a democratic way of life.

Mahon is passionate about public health, advocacy and the power of the legislative process. She has been instrumental in the efforts to change the state law in order to start a medication repository program in Minnesota.

“I am extremely honored to have been chosen as a recipient for the PSLSA and the Mary A Mcvoy Award for Public Service and Leadership,” said Mahon. “This award was not won alone. To me this award demonstrates how so many individuals, students, professors, professionals, organizations, and legislators came together to help bring about positive change for the residents of Minnesota. Together we did not accept the status quo - and worked to change rules when they no longer protected or serviced the needs of the community.”



Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy