Dr. Todd Sorensen Named Recipient of ACCP’s C. Edwin Webb Professional Advocacy Award

October 6, 2022

Todd Sorensen


Dr. Todd Sorensen, professor and associate dean for strategic initiatives and innovations, has been named the recipient of the C. Edwin Webb Professional Advocacy Award.

As noted by ACCP, this award is given only when a particularly noteworthy candidate is identified who has made outstanding contributions to the visibility and value of clinical pharmacy in national policy and intra- and interprofessional arenas. It recognizes an ACCP member who has assembled a record of mentoring others who have gone on to assume a health professions and/or health policy leadership role and is recognized as an ambassador for clinical pharmacy both within and outside the profession.

In his support of Sorensen’s nomination, Dr. Daniel Aistrope, program consultant for the Cardiometabolic Center Alliance, reflects on his broad impact. “Dr. Sorensen’s passion for professional advocacy dates back to his time as a student when he served in chapter and national positions of pharmacy organizations, as well as completing a rotation in association management with Dr. Webb. That desire to drive change in our profession has provided a central theme to his remarkable career as a faculty member, practitioner, residency program director and preceptor, student organization advisor, researcher, and engaged leader within many pharmacy associations.”

For Sorensen, the award is particularly meaningful because of that long-standing connection to Dr. C. Edwin Webb. “I've known Dr. Webb for nearly 30 years and he remained someone that I learned from throughout that time. It was really special to be able to call him after learning of the award and share how he has served as a role model and trusted colleague over the years. For students, I think this is a great example of how what might be assumed to be modest connections made during a learning experience can actually turn into influential, career-long relationships.”

Sorensen will be officially recognized at the 2022 ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy later this month. Read more about Sorensen’s impact, the award and his fellow recipients of other ACCP honors being recognized.



Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy