Samuel W. Melendy Lecture

2019 Samuel W. Melendy Lecturer: Jacquelyn Bainbridge

jacquelyn bainbridge

Cannabis “A Primer For An Old Timer”: Medicinal Use

View Recording of Lecture

Jacquelyn Bainbridge, PharmD, FCCP
Professor Department of Clinical Pharmacy
University of Colorado
Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Department of Neurology School of Medicine
Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO

Jacci Bainbridge, PharmD, FCCP, is Professor in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and serves as Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at the Anschutz Outpatient Pavilion in the Neurology Clinic. In addition to directing the Neurology Residency Teaching Program at the University of Colorado, Denver, Dr Bainbridge manages patients with neurologic disease states, including: epilepsy; Parkinson's Disease; multiple sclerosis; migraines; and Willis-Ekbom disease. She completed her doctor of pharmacy and specialty residency in neurology from the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, Denver. Dr Bainbridge has authored or coauthored several peer-reviewed articles that have been published in Drugs and Aging, Journal of Nuclear Cardiology, Medical Care, and Mental Health Clinicians. She is a member of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American Epilepsy Society, and Epilepsy Foundation of America.

About Samuel W. Melendy

Samuel W. Melendy was a staunch supporter of the College of Pharmacy in its early years. As a member of the Minnesota State Pharmaceutical Association, he played an active role in promoting the establishment of a School of Pharmacy at the University, which opened under Dean Frederick Wulling in 1882. In the early years of the school, Melendy was a frequent visitor who often times lent equipment to the school.

Before Melendy's death in 1916, he discussed with Dean Wulling his will to leave a sum of money to the College for graduate scholarships and fellowships. His wish also included money for an annual lectureship that would emphasize the scientific, ethical and professional aspects of pharmacy. After his death, Melendy's widow endowed funds for both of his wishes. The first Melendy Lecture was given in 1943 by Dean Frederick J. Wulling. Many distinguished local and national figures have participated since. Many of these lectures have been past deans, alumni and have also included the former Vice President of the United States, Hubert H. Humphrey.



Listy text: 

2018 Samuel W. Melendy Lecturer: James M. Hoffman

James M. Hoffman PharmD, MS, is the Chief Patient Safety Officer and an Associate Member in Pharmaceutical Sciences at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee and presented "Innovating and Implementing to Improve Patient Safety." View video

2017 Melendy Lecturer: Paige Clark

Paige Clark, RPh, Director of Alumni Relations and Professional Development for Oregon State University College of Pharmacy, presented "Ethics, Policies and the Pharmacist's Role in Patient Self-Determined End of Life." View video

2016 Melendy Lecturer: Raymond Love

Raymond Love, PharmD, BCPP, FASHP, professor and associate dean at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, presented "When Opportunity Knocks...  Leveraging the Pharmacist’s Expertise in Behavioral Health." Read the recap

2015 Melendy Lecturer: Michael Osterholm

Michael Osterholm, an internationally recognized expert in infectious disease epidemiology, presented "Emerging Infections in a Modern World: A View from the Front Windshield and Rearview Mirror." Read the recap

2014 Melendy Lecturer: Brooks Jackson

Brooks Jackson, M.D., vice president for health sciences and dean of the Medical School, presented "Clinical Drug Studies in Resource Limited Settings."

2013 Melendy Lecturer: Brian Isetts

Professor Brian Isetts, PhD, B.C.P.S., a health policy fellow at the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation, presented "Progress Toward Goals: Building a Medication Use System Our Country Deserves." Read the recap

2012 Melendy Lecturer: RADM Scott Giberson

Scott Giberson, chief pharmacy officer of the U.S. Public Health Service, presented "A Ship Built for Sea" and discussed improving patient and health system outcomes through advanced pharmacy practice. Read the recap

2011 Annual Melendy Lecturer: Frank Cerra

Frank Cerra, M.D., Former Senior Vice President for Health Sciences and Dean of the Medical School, University of Minnesota, presented "Update on Health Care Reform". View lecture

2010 Melendy Lecturer: Daniel Keyler

Daniel Keyler, Co-Director, Pharmacology-Toxicology Research Laboratories, Minneapolis Medical Research Foundation, and Clinical Professor, Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, College of Pharmacy, University of Minnesota, presented "Pharmacy, Toxicology and Snakes". View Lecture


  • Frederick J. Wulling
  • Charles H. Rogers
  • Robert L. Swain
  • Robert P. Fischells
  • Joseph A. Wise
  • Rufus A. Lyman
  • Walter Cook
  • Raymond Bieter
  • John C. Krantz, Jr.
  • Robert A. Hardt
  • Raymond A. Amberg
  • William S. Apple
  • George F. Archambault
  • Paul W. Briggs
  • George P. Hager
  • Lloyd M. Parks
  • Henry H. Gregg
  • George W. Webster
  • Max Eggleston
  • Hubert H. Humphrey
  • Mary L. Andersen
  • Glenn Sonnedecker
  • John C. Turnbull
  • William S. Apple
  • John S. Millis
  • Kenneth E. Tiemann
  • Joseph A. Oddis
  • Mary Anne Kimble
  • Mary Munson Runge
  • Emil W. Baker
  • Jere E. Goyan
  • Laurence C. Hoff
  • Charles R. Walgreen III
  • William M. Heller
  • Lawrence C. Weaver
  • Theodore H. Rowell, Jr.
  • Lowell J. Anderson
  • Richard J. Hammel
  • George H. Hitchings
  • Henri R. Manasse
  • Lucinda L. Maine
  • Gilbert S. Banker
  • Richard J. Berlin
  • Norrie Thomas
  • Robert N. Gale
  • Harold H. Wolf
  • J. Lyle Bootman
  • David Angaran
  • Henry Blissenbach
  • Barbara Brandt
  • Richard Penna
  • Amy Haddad
  • Dale Christensen
  • Kenneth Miller
  • Dirk White
  • Keith W. Johnson
  • Robert Osterhous
  • Daniel Keyler
  • Frank B. Cerra
  • Scott Giberson
  • Brian Isetts
  • Brooks Jackson
  • Michael Osterholm
  • Raymond Love
  • Paige Clark
  • James M. Hoffman