U of MN College of Pharmacy Dean Lynda Welage to step down

June 20, 2024

Lynda Welage

University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy Dean Lynda Welage will step down on Aug. 10, 2024. Welage has served as dean for seven years and has been a faculty member in the Department of Experimental & Clinical Pharmacology throughout that time. During her tenure, the college, founded in 1892, has maintained its reputation as one of the top pharmacy schools in the nation. Under her leadership, the college has expanded its footprint through critical partnerships as well as the integration of the Center for Drug Design, the Medical Laboratory Sciences Program, and the Occupational Therapy Program. 

“The difficulty of this decision is a testament to the incredible journey I’ve been able to embark on with students, faculty, staff, alumni, donors, and partners,” says Welage. “I have been so proud to lead this esteemed institution, and I am confident the college, with its strong foundation and dedicated community, will continue to thrive in the future.”

Welage joined the U of M College of Pharmacy in 2017. Prior to that she had been dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, where she was also professor of pharmacy practice and administrative sciences. Previously, she was a professor, clinical pharmacist, and associate dean for academic affairs at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, having joined that faculty in 1988. Her varied leadership roles at Michigan included service as associate director of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research.

Welage holds a doctor of pharmacy degree from the State University of New York at Buffalo, Division of Clinical Pharmacy, and a bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor. A nationally known expert on critical care and drug absorption, she has researched, published, and presented extensively on issues related to alterations in intestinal transport processes during acute inflammatory states.

Welage is a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. Over the years she has served on advisory boards (Roundtable Rx, NIPTE, ACCP Board of Trustees, etc.) and has held many leadership roles in local, state, and national pharmacy and medical organizations.

While she is stepping down as dean, Welage reiterates that she remains committed to supporting the college. “I will continue to serve as a faculty member which will allow me to continue doing what I love: teaching and collaborating with students, colleagues, and peers to further the mission of this great institution. I am honored to be dean and grateful to be part of this community. As I move forward, I will be honored to continue serving as a faculty member.”

University of Minnesota Provost Rachel Croson expects a search for Dean Welage’s successor to begin in earnest this fall.



Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy