James Cloyd III, Receives Distinguished Tyler Prize

January 29, 2020

James Cloyd Headshot


Minneapolis, Minn.

Jan. 29, 2020

James Cloyd III, PharmD, has been selected to receive the 2020 Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research. The award recognizes an individual for encouraging research by peers, students, fellows, residents and others via publications or by directing research, serving as a preceptor, or mentoring in any discipline of the pharmaceutical sciences.

This award is considered one of the three most prestigious scientific awards of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and is presented every three years. The award was established in 1962 as the Stimulation of Research Award and was renamed The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research in 2002 in recognition of the distinguished scientific and administrative career of Dr. Varro "Tip" Tyler (1926-2001). Cloyd will receive the award at the APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition in National Harbor, MD, on March 20-23, 2020. The APhA Awards and Honors Program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy.

Cloyd is a Morse Alumni Distinguished Teaching Professor, the Lawrence C. Weaver Endowed Chair in Orphan Drug Development, and Director of the Center for Orphan Drug Research at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy.

Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy