Amy Pittenger Receives UMN President's Award for Outstanding Service

May 13, 2020

Amy Pittenger Headshot

Minneapolis, Minn.

May. 13, 2020

Amy Pittenger, PharmD, MS, PhD, professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Sytsems, has received the University of Minnesota 2020 President’s Award for Outstanding Service. These awards recognize exceptional service to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, and service units by any active or retired faculty or staff member. 

Pittenger has had a distinguished career at the University of Minnesota as a faculty member, scholar and administrator. She is a dedicated advocate of the College of Pharmacy and University which is demonstrated through her long-time involvement and high quality of participation in governance, committee and service activities. She has served in numerous elected and appointed positions.

Within the University she has served in elected and appointed positions, including being elected as a general member of the University’s Faculty Consultative Committee (FCC). Subsequently, she was vice chair and chair of the FCC. During her time as FCC Chair, the University and FCC leadership examined the University building naming policy--a highly complex issue. Following a campus-wide protest over the proposed closure of an on-campus child care and development facility, Amy was appointed as co-chair of the Provost’s Child Care Advisory Committee which examined the child care needs of the faculty, staff, and students and considered how the University might best expand access to high-quality, cost-effective child care. This committee’s report is setting the stage as to how the University moves forward in this area. Amy was also on committees within FCC including the major events policy committee. She is currently serving on the President’s committee on COVID-19. This is a critical committee that is working extremely hard and whose work will likely continue for the foreseeable future.

In 2018, Pittenger was appointed by the University’s Board of Regents to serve on the Presidential Advisory Search Committee. Following the hiring of President-Designate Joan Gabel, Amy became a member of the Presidential Transition Committee. She was also appointed as co-chair of the University of Minnesota Provost Search.

Read more about the awards and past recipients.

Media Contacts

Dawn Tucker
College of Pharmacy
Eileen Omizo-Whittenberg
College of Pharmacy