College of Pharmacy Makes an Impact at this Year’s Annual APhA Meeting

Numerous students, faculty and alumni attended the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Annual Meeting and Exposition March 27-30 in San Diego.

Highlights from the meeting:

Kelechi Aguwa, an alum from the Class of 2012, received the Immunization Champion Award: Individual Practitioner. This award recognizes an individual within the profession of pharmacy that has made extraordinary contributions towards improved vaccination rates within their communities.

Brian Isetts received the Hubert H. Humphrey Award, which recognizes APhA members who have made major contributions in government and legislative service at the local, state or national level.

Philip Portoghese received the Takeru Higuchi Research Prize, which recognizes the highest accomplishments in pharmaceutical sciences, and is international in scope and stature.

Todd Sorensen received the Gloria Niemeyer Francke Leadership Mentor Award, which recognizes an individual who has promoted and encouraged pharmacists to attain leadership positions through example, acting as a role model and mentor.

Lindsay Kubina, a third year student, won the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition. The competition is designed to reflect changes that are occurring in practice, to promote and encourage further professional development of the student pharmacist, and to reinforce the role of the pharmacist as a health care provider and educator.