News and Events


American Pharmacists Association logo

Kelechi Aguwa, an alum from the Class of 2012, received the Immunization Champion Award: Individual Practitioner. This award recognizes an individual within the profession of pharmacy that has made extraordinary contributions towards improved vaccination rates within their communities.

Jon Schommer

Jon Schommer, PhD, professor and associate head in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems (PCHS), has been named the Peters Chair in Pharmacy Practice Innovation, effective Jan. 1, 2015. This position is a rotating, two-year appointment for College of Pharmacy faculty. Schommer's appointment was made following an external panel review.

marilyn speedie

Marilyn Speedie, PhD, dean of the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, has been selected as the 2014 Weaver Medal Recipient.

An excerpt from one of Dr. Speedie's nominations:

Yusuf Abul-Hajj

Yusuf Abul-Hajj has been named an American Chemical Society (ACS) Fellow. He will be recognized at the society’s fall national meeting in Boston in August.

keri hager

Assistant Professor Keri Hager received the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award at the Sept. 12-13 Minnesota Pharmacists Association annual meeting. The award recognizes a young pharmacist within the first 10 years of practice who has distinguished him or herself in the field of pharmacy. The award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Companies.

scientist with test tube in lab

A new formulation for a University of Minnesota-developed drug targeted at rare disorders is under development, with the potential to help a small number of Americans each year. The new drug formulation is designed to prevent serious complications that can occur when drug delivery is interrupted.

stephen schondelmeyer

Professor Stephen Schondelmeyer received the Harold R. Popp Award at the Sept. 12-13 Minnesota Pharmacists Association (MPhA) annual meeting. Sponsored by the MPhA, the Popp Award was established in 1969 in honor of the late Senator Harold R. Popp to recognize one pharmacist annually for outstanding services to the profession of pharmacy. This is the highest honor bestowed by the association.

courtney aldrich

Courtney Aldrich, associate professor of medicinal chemistry, has been named editor-in-chief of the American Chemical Society's new, web-only journal ACS Infectious Diseases.

marsha millonig

Marsha Millonig, a 1982 graduate of the College of Pharmacy, has been selected to receive the University of Minnesota Alumni Service Award. The award recognizes her service as a volunteer who has had a major impact on the University. She will receive the award at the Alumni Association's gala celebratory event during Homecoming Week on Oct. 16.

online drug report

As the U.S. Food and Drug Administration calls for further research into improving prescription drug advertising on television, experts from Dartmouth College and the University of Minnesota are calling for the nation to take a second look at online pharmaceutical information and promotion.