Todd Sorensen Receives the Harold R. Popp Award

Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Minnesota Pharmacists Association
Sep. 14, 2017

Professor Todd Sorensen received the Harold R. Popp Award at the Sept. 8-9 Minnesota Pharmacists Association (MPhA) annual meeting. Sponsored by the MPhA, the Popp Award was established in 1969 in honor of the late Senator Harold R. Popp to recognize one pharmacist annually for outstanding services to the profession of pharmacy. This is the highest honor bestowed by the association.

“This is a wonderful honor,” said Sorensen. “But in thinking of the work I may have contributed that supports being recognized with this award, I first think about how fortunate it is to be in a state where innovation and collaboration are valued within the profession. It’s great to work with a community that is open to new ideas, is committed to advancing practice for the good of the whole, and actively participates in the development of the next generation of pharmacy leaders. It’s a rich environment for anyone who wants to help the profession pursue opportunities to deliver better care.”

A faculty member of the College of Pharmacy since 1998, Sorensen is associate department head of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems. He also serves as executive director of the Alliance for Integrated Medication Management, a non-profit organization facilitating quality improvement in medication management.


The College of Pharmacy,