Todd Sorensen Elected President-Elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy

Dec. 19, 2017

Todd Sorensen, Pharm.D., FAPhA, FCCP, professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems (PCHS), has been elected president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the national organization representing pharmacy education in the United States. He is the third AACP president from the University of Minnesota in the past decade – former faculty member Rod Carter served as AACP president from 2010-11, and Professor Marilyn Speedie served 2007-08.

“I’m excited to serve AACP in this capacity at a time when the organization is taking on the role of convener to mobilize engagement of schools in several priority areas,” said Sorensen. “This is the type of leadership work I have engaged in for many years and in several venues. There are important issues facing the Academy and the profession, and no school can navigate these successfully on their own. I look forward to the opportunity to help AACP create the strategies, support systems, and accountability for action that will accelerate change in our academic and professional communities.”

A faculty member since 1998, Sorensen received his bachelor of science and doctor of pharmacy degrees from the College of Pharmacy. He is a faculty fellow in the college’s Center for Leading Healthcare Change and a graduate faculty member in the Social and Administrative Pharmacy graduate program. He is also executive director of the Alliance for Integrated Medication Management, a non-profit organization working to support widespread adoption of team-based medication management services into the care of high-risk, high-cost patients suffering from multiple chronic health conditions.


The College of Pharmacy,