Stephen Schondelmeyer Receives Prestigious Scientific Award

Jan. 2, 2014

Stephen Schondelmeyer, PhD, has been selected to receive the 2014 Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research. The award recognizes an individual for encouraging research by peers, students, fellows, residents and others via publications or by directing research, serving as a preceptor, or mentoring in any discipline of the pharmaceutical sciences.

This award is considered one of the three most prestigious scientific awards of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and is presented every three years. The award was established in 1962 as the Stimulation of Research Award and was renamed The Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research in 2002 in recognition of the distinguished scientific and administrative career of Dr. Varro “Tip” Tyler (1926-2001). Schondelmeyer will receive the award at APhA 2014 in Orlando, Florida, March 28-31, 2014.

Schondelmeyer is professor and head of the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems, director of the PRIME Institute, and the Century Mortar Club Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Management & Economics.

The College of Pharmacy,


The College of Pharmacy, the only school of pharmacy in Minnesota, offers its program on the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses. Founded in 1892, the College of Pharmacy educates pharmacists and scientists and engages in research and practice to improve the health of the people of Minnesota and society. The college is part of the Academic Health Center, which is home to the University of Minnesota’s six health professional schools and colleges as well as several health-related centers and institutes.