James Cloyd Receives J. Kiffin Penry Award for Excellence in Epilepsy Care

Sep. 17, 2017

James Cloyd, PharmD, has been selected to receive the American Epilepsy Society (AES) 2017 J. Kiffin Penry Award for Excellence in Epilepsy Care.

Established in 1997 with an original gift from Abbott Laboratories and now supported through the J. Kiffin Penry Fund of AES, this award honors Dr. Penry's lifelong focus on and genuine concern for the patient with epilepsy. It recognizes individuals whose work has had a major impact on patient care
and improved the quality of life for persons with epilepsy as well as recognizing excellence in the care of persons with epilepsy.

"The award is particularly meaningful to me as I worked closely with Dr. Penry during the early years of my career," said Cloyd. "He set a standard for excellence in patient care, education, and research that I've tried to emulate."

Cloyd will receive the award at the 2017 AES Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. on Dec. 4.


The College of Pharmacy, pharm@umn.edu