Jacqueline Barber Named Master Preceptor

Award honors instructors’ exemplary work in training and mentoring future pharmacists
May. 1, 2017

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy has recognized Jacqueline Barber, PharmD, FASHP, BCNSP, as a master preceptor for her dedication and commitment to excellence in experiential education and professional practice.

Preceptors supervise student pharmacist-interns in a clinical setting, and play a critical role in shaping a student’s future career through teaching and mentoring. The fourth cohort of the AACP Master Preceptor Recognition Program will receive a $500 honorarium — to attend additional preceptor training or a pharmacy professional meeting to continue preceptor development — a certificate of recognition, complimentary AACP membership, and national acknowledgment from AACP and other pharmacy associations.

Barber was one of seven to receive the honor. The other 2017 recipients include David Zora, Duquesne University School of Pharmacy; Kimberly Croley, University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy; Jeffrey Fish, University of Wisconsin Madison School of Pharmacy; Randell Ball, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy; Mary Walker, University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy; and Carl Labbe, University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.

“Our pharmacy preceptors represent an exceptionally dedicated and talented sector of the profession. It is a privilege to annually identify the best of the best in the 2017 Master Preceptor Recognition Program,” said Dr. Lucinda L. Maine, executive vice president and CEO of AACP. “If our aim is to truly prepare team-ready clinicians upon graduation then we need to learn from these exemplars and share their approaches to patient care and teaching with all those involved in experiential learning.”

It is estimated that 82 percent of schools use faculty who are jointly-funded by practice sites, and up to 60 percent of total APPE rotations are provided by adjunct or volunteer faculty. The MPRP seeks to recognize preceptors who are not full-time employees of a pharmacy school, but who are critical in creating practice-ready pharmacists.


(Source: American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy)


The College of Pharmacy, pharm@umn.edu