Carolyn Fairbanks Named Associate Dean for Research

Jul. 11, 2018

Carolyn Fairbanks, professor in the Department of Pharmaceutics, has been named associate dean for research, effective July 9, 2018.

The associate dean’s role in the college is to develop research priorities, respond to new research opportunities, and support research career development.

“I am very pleased that Carolyn has accepted this important role,” said Lynda Welage, dean. "With her experience and passion for research, I am confident she will help us advance our research mission at the college, and I look forward to working with her as part of our leadership team.”

Fairbanks’ research focuses on the neuropharmacology of neuroplasticity driven chronic pain and opioid addiction as well as development of analgesic treatments and anti-addictive medications. Her emphasis is development of non-opioid medications that serve as analgesics independently of and as co-adjuvants to opioids to reduce both opioid dose requirements and to prevent addiction.

“I’m very honored to accept the role of associate dean for research in the College of Pharmacy,” said Fairbanks. “Our faculty members have tremendous innovation, energy and a clear commitment to solving the world’s greatest challenges. I greatly look forward to working with our faculty to optimize and advance our research enterprise to accelerate our contributions toward improving health care locally, nationally, and globally.”

Fairbanks previously served as interim associate dean for research from 2010-2011. She currently provides leadership for the University of Minnesota Pain Consortium, and she co-directs the Medicinal Chemistry and Neuropharmacology core course and offers an interdisciplinary graduate-level seminar, Advanced Neuropharmaceutics. She is a longstanding and active member of the Society for Neuroscience, International Narcotics Research Conference, and the American Pain Society for which she also served on the board of directors.

Fairbanks received her bachelor's of science degree in biology from Macalester College and her PhD in pharmacology from the University of Minnesota.


The College of Pharmacy,