Medicinal Chemistry

By the Numbers

Million Dollars in External Research Funding
Tenure or Tenure Track Faculty Members
Medicinal Chemistry Graduate Students

Medicinal Chemistry News

Dr. Philip S. Portoghese's headshot

The Medicinal Chemistry Department celebrates and honors Dr. Phillip S. Portoghese as he retires from the University after 62 years of exemplary teaching, research, and service.

Robert Vince wearing Weaver Medal

Robert Vince, PhD, director of the Center for Drug Design at the University of Minnesota, has been selected as the 2022 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal recipient.

Medicinal Chemistry PhD Graduates Spring '23

Alexander Hurben, Garrett Schey, Caroline Buchholz, Jacob Bouchard, Samantha Kennelly, Maxwell Dillenburg, Md Abdullah Al Noman, and Peng Ge each successfully defended their PhD thesis this spring.

Alexis Stoorza

Medicinal Chemistry PhD student Alexis Stoorza's project will focus on more precisely defining the binding mode and selectivity of CpxA inhibitors.