News and Events


Congratulations to Katlyn Fleming of the Haskell-Luevano Lab, who was awarded the 2018-2019 Rowell Graduate Fellowship! The fellowship was established by the family of pharmaceutical industrialist Theodore H. Rowell to support graduate students in the pharmaceutical sciences with an emphasis on drug delivery systems.  


Congratulations to Sara Coulup (Georg Lab) and Jian Tang (Harki Lab), who were both selected to receive the 2018-2019 Bighley Graduate Fellowship! The fellowship was established in 2008 by Dr. Lyle D. Bighley and Sharon Bighley as a way to support graduate students working in the biomedical health sciences. It recognizes excellence in students conducting research in laboratories with an emphasis on collaborative and interdisciplinary work.


Congratulations to Kellan Passow, graduate student in the Harki laboratory, who was awarded the American Chemical Society, Minnesota Section Travel Grant! The grant will provide funds for Kellan to attend the Fall 2018 ACS meeting in Boston, Massachusetts where he will make a presentation on his research. 

The research of Dr. Carston Wagner and his lab was featured in a recent Minnesota Daily article titled "UMN Researchers Attacking Cancer Cells with Nanotechnology." The article highlights the Wagner lab's steps towards clinical trials, in discussion with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, for their nanoring therapy. The nanotherapy modifies the user's own T cells in order to reactivate the immune system to target cancer cells. Unlike other methods to kill tumor cells, the nanoring therapy is reversible and does not carry long-term risks.

Professor Rory Remmel attended the 49th Gordon Research Conference in Drug Metabolism last week at Holderness Academy near Plymouth, New Hampshire. Dr. Swati Nagar (recently promoted to full professor at Temple University) chaired the meeting.  She was a PHD student of Professor Emeritus Cheryl Zimmerman and co-advised by Dr. Remmel.  Three of Dr. Remmel's former PhD students, Vinayak Hosagrahara, Upendra Argikar, and Aaron Teitelbaum were also in attendance.  Dr. Steven Leeder (Minnesota PharmD, 1982) was elected as the academic vice chair. 

Alex Hurben, a graduate student in the Doran lab, has been selected as a trainee for the NIH T32 Chemistry-Biology Interface Training Grant. The grant program allows first-rate students to grow into accomplished professionals both in their primary area of interest and in a complementary field through interdisciplinary research interactions and experiences. Alex will be working with Drs. Doran and Tretyakova to identify harmful oxidation products that drive Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease.

Dr. Rick Wagner was interviewed for the University of Minnesota Research Brief discussing his team's recently published work into the development of techniques to activate the body's immune cells against tumor cells. “We designed protein-based nanorings that bind to T-cells,” explained Wagner.

Congratulations to Kellan Passow, a graduate student in the Harki laboratory, who was awarded the Biological Chemistry Division Travel Award in order to attend the Fall 2018 ACS meeting in Boston! The Travel Award is offered on a competitive basis for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who plan to present a poster or oral presentation of their research at the National ACS Meeting. 

Wagner lab group

Can we use nanotechnology to transform our own immune cells into cancer serial killers?

Congratulations to the following Medicinal Chemistry Undergraduate Research Assistants, who were awarded 2018 UROP Undergraduate Research Scholarships!: