MIKI Meeting

MIKIW 2021 Website

In 1963, the first Medicinal Chemistry Meeting-in-Miniature, informally referred as “MIKI” Meeting, was held at the University of Iowa. This meeting was organized by the founders listed below. Since then, the Departments of Medicinal Chemistry and Pharmacognosy of the Universities of Minnesota, Iowa, Kansas, and Illinois at Chicago have alternately hosting these annual regional meetings. The MIKI meetings have been organized by students at the host university and have been one of the most successful annual regional meetings in the field of medicinal chemistry. Besides providing graduate students with opportunities to present their research at a scientific meeting, these annual meetings also act as a catalyst for sharing and exchanging ideas among students and faculties of the different universities.

Since 1966, the host university has invited an eminent scientist to deliver a keynote address. This allows MIKI participants to interact both professionally and socially with one of the top scientists in the field.

Miki Founders


O. Gisvold

P.S. Portoghese

T.O. Soine


J.G. Cannon

D.T. Witiak


M.P. Mertes

E.E. Smissman

R.A. Wiley


L. Bauer

D. Coviello

R. Daniels

J.E. Gearien

Location & Keynote

2018 in Illinois
Dr. Michelle Arkin
University of California, San Francisco

2017 in Minnesota
Dr. Uttam K. Tambar
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

2016 in Iowa
Dr. Amy Hauck Newman
National Institutes of Health (NIH)

2015 in Kansas
Dr. Bruce Roth
Small Molecule Drug Discovery, Genentech

2014 in Illinois

Dr. Paul A. Wender
Stanford Medical School

2013 in Minnesota

Dr. Marvin J. Miller
University of Notre Dame

2012 in Iowa

Dr. Heidi Hamm
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

2011 in Kansas

Dr. Dennis C. Liotta
Emory University

2010 in Illinois

Dr. Tomáš Hudlický
Brock University

2009 in Minnesota

Dr. Dale Boger
The Scripps Research Institute

2008 in Iowa

Dr. Daniel Kahne
Harvard University

2007 in Kansas

Dr. Albert Padwa
Emory University, Atlanta

2006 in Illinois

Dr. William Fenical
University of California, San Diego

2005 in Minnesota

Dr. Christopher Lipinski
Pfizer Pharmaceuticals

2004 in Iowa

Dr. Kenner Rice
National Institutes of Health

2003 in Kansas

Dr. C. Dale Poulter
University of Utah

2002 in Illinois

Dr. Richard B. Silverman
Northwestern University

2001 in Minnesota

Dr. Andrew Hamilton
Yale University

Location & Keynote

2000 in Iowa
Dr. Michael Marletta
University of Michigan

1999 in Kansas
Dr. Roger M. Friedinger
Merck Research Laboratories

1998 in Illinois
Dr. Richard A. Lerner
Scripps Research Institute

1997 in Minnesota

Dr. John Montgomery
Biocryst Pharmaceutical, Inc.

1996 in Iowa

Dr. David Nichols
Purdue University

1995 in Kansas

Dr. Paul Anderson
Dupont Merck Pharmaceutical

1994 in Illinois

Dr. Arthur Patchett
Merck Research Laboratories

1993 in Minnesota

Dr. Daniel Rich
University of Wisconsin, Madison

1992 in Iowa

Dr. Laurence Hurley
University of Texas, Austin

1991 in Kansas

Dr. Julius Rebek
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1990 in Illinois

Dr. Koji Nakanishi
Columbia University

1989 in Minnesota

Dr. John Katzenellenbogen
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

1988 in Iowa

Dr. Carl Djerassi
Stanford University

1987 in Kansas

Dr. William Roush
Indiana University

1986 in Illinois

Dr. Joseph Fried
University of Chicago

1985 in Minnesota

Dr. David Triggle
SUNY Buffalo

1984 in Iowa

Dr. Alan Karitzky
University of Florida

1983 in Wisconsin

Dr. Paul Bartlett
University of California, Berkeley

Location & Keynote

1982 in Kansas
Dr. Henry Rapoport
University of California, Berkeley

1981 in Illinois

Dr. Harry Wasserman
Yale University

1980 in Minnesota

Dr. Eugene Jorgensen
University of California, San Francisco

1979 in Iowa

Dr. Alan Sartorelli
Yale University

1978 in Kansas

Dr. Albert Meyers
Colorado State University

1977 in Illinois

Dr. Heinz Floss
Purdue University

1976 in Minnesota

Dr. Donald Jerina
National Institutes of Health

1975 in Iowa

Dr. Everett May
National Institutes of Health

1974 in Kansas

Dr. Marjorie Horning
Baylor University

1973 in Illinois

Dr. Arnold Brossi

1972 in Minnesota

Dr. Gertrude Ellion

1971 In Iowa

Dr. Bernard Belleau
University of Ottawa

1970 in Kansas

Dr. Corwin Hansch
Pomona College

1969 in Illinois

Dr. Everett Maynert
University of Illinois, Chicago

1968 in Minnesota

Dr. Bernard Baker
University of California, Santa Barbara

1967 in Iowa

Dr. Julius Axelrod
National Institutes of Health

1966 in Kansas

Dr. Richard Schowen
University of Kansas