News and Events

Congratulations to Irene Vuu: On August 13 Irene Vuu, PharmD, ECP graduate student and mentee of Jim Cloyd successfully defended her PhD dissertation entitled “Development of Parenteral Drugs for the Treatment of Seizure Emergencies.” Her presentation was well organized, clearly and articulately delivered, and included some exciting data. The examination committee was impressed with her ability to think on her feet and to answer questions that required synthesis of information to come to an answer.

Congratulations to Patty Maglalang: The American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) has awarded Patty Maglalang, PharmD student a travel stipend to support her attendance at the ACCP annual meeting in October where she will present a poster entitled "The Evolution of Rescue Therapy for the Treatment of Seizure Emergencies."

Rare disease advocates joined Governor Tim Walz on June 18, 2019 for a ceremonial signing of the bipartisan Rare Disease Advisory Council bill. The bill will create the Chloe Barnes Rare Disease Advisory Council at the University of Minnesota to coordinate the study and treatment of rare diseases.

Abhishek Sathe

Congratulations to Abhishek Sathe on winning the award for best Parkinson Disease abstract at the 32nd Annual Symposium on Etiology, Pathogenesis, and Treatment of Parkinson's Disease and Other Movement Disorders! Your abstract on A Comprehensive Evaluation Of Udca Pharmacokinetics, Biological Target Engagements and Mechanism(s) of Action in People with Parkinson's Disease (PWPs) was very well received among 58 other abstracts by the PSG Symposia Committee. Once again, congratulations on your award!

FDA Law Blog

Okay, okay . . . .  It’s now a month after Rare Disease Day (on which Hyman, Phelps & McNamara, P.C.’s own Frank J.

CODR is featured as one of the five rare disease education programs on Rare Disease Report. 

The University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy team, which includes CODR's Parker Johnson, presented a poster (Antibiotic Stewardship in a Small Hospital: Overcoming Barriers with Telemedicine) last week at the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Annual Global Conference in Seattle, part of the reward for winning first place in the ACCP Clinical Research Challenge. Each student also received a $500 cash prize and an individual plaque; the team also brought home a team trophy.


Patty Maglalang has been accepted into the College of Pharmacy Research Emphasis – Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology Track.  Completion of this emphasis will introduce her to the role pharmacy trained professionals can play in the research enterprise and give an introduction to some of the skills needed for a career in scientific research. Her mentors will be Dr. Jim Cloyd and Dr. Lisa Coles. Congratulations, Patty!

Congratulations to Irene Vuu!

Irene Vuu has been named a recipient of the 2019 James C. Cloyd Neuropharmacology Fellowship. This fellowship was awarded based on her extraordinary potential to engage in research related to clinical neuropharmacology. Congratulations, Irene!

Usha Mishra

At an event on October 4, Usha Mishra, CODR Researcher, had the opportunity to meet and talk with 2014 Nobel Peace Prize recipient Kalish Satyarthi. His goal is to end exploitation of children and child labor in the world. Quite a unique opportunity!