News and Events

Reena Kartha portrait

Congratulations to Dr. Reena Kartha who was selected to serve as a member of the CureGPX4 Science Team!

Sarah Kim has been awarded the Frieda M. Kunze Fellowship for the 2020-21 academic year. Receipt of this compettive award is a tribute to her excellent academic record and professional promise. Sarah is working in the rare disease and orphan drug area, and Dr. Cloyd serves as a member of her PhD committee. Congratulations Sarah!

James Cloyd

James Cloyd III, PharmD, has been selected to receive the 2020 Tyler Prize for Stimulation of Research. The award recognizes an individual for encouraging research by peers, students, fellows, residents and others via publications or by directing research, serving as a preceptor, or mentoring in any discipline of the pharmaceutical sciences.

Reena Kartha portrait

Dr. Kartha accepts invititation from the Gaucher Community Alliance to join their new Professional Advisory Council.

The Rare Disease Legislative Advocates (RDLA) announced Erica Barnes as one of the 2019 RareVoice Awards state advocacy finalists. Erica Barnes is the council administrator of the Chloe Barnes Rare Disease Advisory Council and a member of the University of Minnesota Rare Disease Day planning committee. The RareVoice Awards is an annual celebration, now in its eighth year, to honor advocates who give rare disease patients a voice on Capitol Hill and in state government.

Reena Kartha portrait

Dr. Kartha has joined the Board of Directors for IndoUSrare. Her role will be to accelerate clinical research leading to faster diagnostics, cures for rare diseases by engaging US sponsors and CROs to include India in their clinical trials and  foster collaborations between patient advocacy groups and researchers in the USA and India to help accelerate clinical research, trials and therapy access across borders.

New to the spring 2020 Grand Challenge Curriculum, Dr. Kartha will be teaching a Freshman Seminar on "Rare Diseases: What it Takes to Be a Medical Orphan." The Grand Challenge Curriculum launched in Fall 2015 in support of the University of Minnesota strategic plan. Grand Challenge Freshman Seminars engage first-year students in complex issues facing the world and introduce the importance of interdisciplinary approaches. Sign up

Congratulations to Dr. Lisa Coles, along with Drs. Seaquist, Öz, Moheet, Mangia, and Eberly, on being elected to membership in the Office of Academic Clinical Affairs (OACA) Academy for Excellence in Team Science! This Academy is intended to acknowledge the valuable and significant contributions made by an exemplar interdisciplinary team conducting biomedical or health care research to address significant health challenges.

On Friday, August 9, 2019 the faculty, staff and students of CODR celebrated summer and their recent achievements at the home of CODR Director, Dr. Jim Cloyd.

Honors and Awards

Congratulations to Abhi Sathe: Abhi Sathe, ECP graduate student was awarded the Olsteins Graduate Fellowship for the 2019-2020 school year.