Weaver Medal

Nominations Now Being Accepted for the 2019 Weaver Medal

The Weaver Medal Review Committee is now accepting nominations for The 2019 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal for Distinguished Contributions to Pharmacy Education, Research or Outreach in Minnesota. 
To submit your nomination, download and complete this form. Send the completed form to: jniemeie@umn.edu
The deadline for submissions is Monday, Dec. 2, 2019.

About the Award

The Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal is given annually and recognizes an individual or group for providing sustained and distinguished support of the College of Pharmacy, or for an outstanding contribution to pharmacy education, practice, research or outreach. Contributions can be in all or any single area recognized by the award.

Past Recipients

Marsha Millonig Named 2018 Weaver Medal Recipient

Marsha MillonigMarsha Millonig, MBA, BSPharm, a practicing pharmacist who works with both independent and chain pharmacies, has been selected as the 2018 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal recipient. The award is given annually to someone who supports the college and its students through service to education, the profession, research and the community. She will receive the award at an event to be held this spring.

"It is such a humbling honor to be chosen to receive the Weaver Medal," Millonig said. "Larry and Dee Weaver were and are, respectively, colleagues, mentors, and friends since I began studying pharmacy in 1979. They provided steadying hands during my entire career in both Minnesota and Washington D.C. To receive recognition in their honor is so meaningful. More so is my selection by former recipients who represent such an esteemed group of colleagues of which I am so honored to become part of and I will continue to aspire to earn their respect."

Millonig is a longtime supporter of the college and its students. She has been an active member of the Century Mortar Club and a Leadership Networking Partner. In 2003 she helped establish the college's National Board of Advisors and has served as its chair since its inception. She also is an associate fellow of the Center for Leading Healthcare Change.

Millonig is the President/CEO of Catalyst Enterprises, LLC, a health care consulting firm that specializes in projects that allow pharmacy, distribution and manufacturing clients to be more efficient and value-added providers toward improved health outcomes. She also serves as the interim executive director of the Minnesota Pharmacists Association.

Prior to forming her company, she was with the Healthcare Distribution Management Association (HDMA) and headed the philanthropic HDMA Healthcare Foundation. She also was with the National Association of Chain Drug Stores.

2017 Recipient: Donald Uden

Don UdenDonald Uden, PharmD, professor at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, has been selected as the 2017 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal recipient.

"It is my greatest honor to have my name associated with this award," said Uden, who has been a faculty member since 1985. "Larry was a mentor and friend. His vision for what our profession could do inspired me to advance pharmacy practice in an era of its infancy.''


2018 Marsha Millonig
2017 Donald Uden
2016 Randall Seifert
2015 Timothy Stratton
2014 Marilyn K. Speedie
2012 Frank Cerra
2011 Ronald Hadsall
2009 Stephen W. Schondelmeyer
2010 Donald A. Dee
2008 Kenneth W. Miller
2007 S. Bruce Benson
2006 Steven T. Simenson
2006 Wendy L. Simenson
2005 Yusuf Abul-Hajj
2004 Henry J. Mann
2003 Julie K. Johnson
2003 Darwin Zaske
2002 Lowell J. Anderson
2001 James C. Cloyd
2001 Hugh F. Kabat
2001 Phillip S. Portoghese
2001 Ronald Sawchuk
2000 Robert J. Cipolle
1999 Cherie Perlmutter
1998 Arnold Delger
1997 Frank E. DiGangi
1996 Lawrence C. Weaver
1996 Delores M. Weaver

2016 Weaver Medal Recipient: Randall Seifert

Randall SeifertRandall Seifert, PharmD, professor at the College of Pharmacy, was the 2016 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal recipient. A faculty member since 2005, Seifert was recognized for providing outstanding contributions to education, the pharmacy profession, research and the community.

2015 Weaver Medal Recipient: Tim Stratton

Tim StrattonTim Stratton, PhD, professor and senior associate to the dean for assessment and accreditation at the College of Pharmacy, was recognized for providing outstanding and sustained contributions to the college and its students, communities in Greater Minnesota and underserved populations.

An excerpt from his award nomination, "What makes Dr. Stratton an amazing mentor is his willingness to give of his time, knowledge and resources to help students become the best patient care providers they can be. His legacy of teaching, research and service will remain far-reaching. Dr. Stratton has demonstrated that great accomplishments can be made by being vocal about the causes that an individual finds passion for, whether this is by serving the underserved or demanding high attainment standards for the profession, be it pharmacy students, graduate students, current pharmacists or academic professionals."

2014 Weaver Medal Recipient: Marilyn Speedie

Dean Marilyn SpeedieDean of the College of Pharmacy (1996-2017), and co-director of the Center for Leading Healthcare Change.

Her nominator wrote, "Her leadership was demonstrated repeatedly as she moved the college ahead into a clear national stature position. She also recognized the need to educate and train more clinical pharmacy practitioners, particularly for rural Minnesota. She worked tirelessly in designing and implementing the branch of the college at the University of Minnesota Duluth. In so doing, she developed the branch college model for health sciences, one that is still in use today."

2012 Weaver Medal Recipient: Frank Cerra

Frank CerraCerra was recognized for playing a major role in the shaping of interprofessional education, practice and research at the University and throughout the state. He is a professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems, emeritus senior vice president for health sciences and the McKnight Presidential Leadership Chair.

His nominator wrote, "Our profession and college benefited by the exposure of numerous medical students, residents, fellows and junior faculty to the openness and respect Dr. Cerra demonstrated on a regular basis for pharmacy."

2011 Weaver Medal Recipient: Ronald Hadsall

Ronald HadsallHadsall was recognized for his longtime service to the college, his work in graduate education and service.

Currently a professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems, Hadsall joined the College of Pharmacy in 1983. He also serves as adjunct associate professor in the International Graduate Program in Social and Administrative Pharmacy for Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok, Thailand.

2010 Weaver Medal Recipient: Donald A. Dee

Donald DeeDee was recognized for his contributions to the college and profession, both statewide and nationally.

Dee served as CEO of the Minnesota State Pharmaceutical Association for 20 years and was instrumental in convincing the legislature that Minnesota needed a building to educate pharmacists and nurses (now Weaver-Densford Hall, home of the College of Pharmacy).

His nominator stated, "One of Don's major contributions to the profession has been to develop the leadership skills of young pharmacists. Don is one of a group of pharmacists whose leadership changed pharmacy and health care in Minnesota."

2009 Weaver Medal Recipient: Stephen W. Schondelmeyer

Stephen SchondelmeyerSchondelmeyer is professor and department head of Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems, director of the PRIME Institute, and the Century Mortar Club Endowed Chair in Pharmaceutical Management & Economics.