U of M Alumni Service Award

Lowell Anderson Lowell Anderson

As a longtime mentor and leader in pharmacy and at the University of Minnesota, Lowell Anderson began his history of service as a student volunteer at the College of Pharmacy, where he graduated in 1962. In addition to starting an independent community pharmacy, Anderson went on to lead organizations at home and beyond, including International Pharmacist Federation, the Minnesota Pharmacists Association and the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy. As past-president of the American Pharmacists Association, Anderson received the Remington Honor Medal, widely regarded as one America’s top pharmacy awards. As a professor in the Pharmaceutical Care & Health Department from 2009 until his retirement in 2017, Anderson’s guidance has made a positive, lasting impact on the future of the industry. In addition to providing strong leadership within the Pharmacy Alumni Society, the Century Mortar Club, and the College of Pharmacy’s Board of Advisors, Anderson has served on a variety of task forces and committees. He’s also helped spearhead and develop major initiatives including the Center for Leading Healthcare Change. Lowell Anderson’s commitment to people, the university, and his industry is second to none.


About the Award

This award recognizes service as a volunteer to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, or faculty, or to the University of Minnesota Alumni Association or any of its constituent groups.

Nominations are submitted to the Alumni Association CEO for endorsement before they move on to the All-University Honors Committee, the University President, and the Board of Regents.

The nominee must be graduate or a former student of the University; cannot be a current member of faculty or staff, or a sitting Regent, but retirees are eligible. An individual who has received an honorary degree, outstanding achievement award, University of Minnesota award of distinction, or alumni service award may be considered for another award. Read more

Past Award Recipients

  • Scott Setzepfandt
  • Linnea Forsell
  • Lucinda Maine
  • Marsha Millonig
  • Steve Simenson
  • Ken Macho
  • Marilyn Eelkema
  • Julie K. Johnson
  • Duane and Glenn Engebretson
  • Henry Blissenbach
  • James W. Alexander
  • Robert K. Schultz
  • Michelle Aytay