Events and Awards

Welcome Alumni and Friends

Join Us at Events and Learn More About Our Awards and Awardees!


University Awards

Outstanding Achievement Award

The Outstanding Achievement Award is the University of Minnesota's highest award given to alumni. It is conferred upon former students of the University who have attained distinction in their chosen fields or professions or in public service, and who have demonstrated outstanding achievement and leadership on a community, state, national, or international level. 

Alumni Service Award

This award recognizes service as a volunteer to the University, its schools, colleges, departments, or faculty, or to the University of Minnesota Alumni Association or any of its constituent groups.

Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals

This is a University-wide award is be conferred to Individuals whom have attained unusual distinction as professionals in their careers within institutions and have demonstrated sustained outstanding achievement and leadership.

College of Pharmacy Awards

Above and Beyond Award

This award recognizes individuals for their enduring support for the College of Pharmacy and/or the University of Minnesota. Recipients exemplify commitment, leadership and service. 

Champion Award

This award recognizes dedication, service and outstanding contributions to the College of Pharmacy and/ or the University of Minnesota. 

Early Career Achievement Award

This award recognizes an early career (15 years from graduation) alumni pharmacist leader who has demonstrated achievements in service and a commitment to the profession of pharmacy. 

Hats Off Award

Hats Off Award recipients are chosen by the College of Pharmacy’s Professional Affairs team, with the only criteria being that the recipient is an invaluable asset to the college and/or the profession of pharmacy.

Pharmacy Alumni Society Awards

Faculty Recognition Award

The Faculty Recognition Award is for contributions to the Pharmacy Alumni Society/ University of Minnesota Alumni Association, the College of Pharmacy, the University of Minnesota and/or the profession of pharmacy.

Distinguished Pharmacist Award

Distinguished Pharmacist Award candidates are preferably an alumnus of the University of Minnesota and preferably a non-academic pharmacist who has demonstrated outstanding leadership or contributions to the practice of pharmacy, healthcare, the College of Pharmacy, the University of Minnesota, the Pharmacy Alumni Society or a combination of these, and is a community leader and involved in civic affairs.

Mentee of the Year Award

Mentors nominate students based on their engagement in the Pharmacy Mentoring Program and its goals of demonstrating a genuine interest in mentoring students, a will to spend time in mentoring students, and creating a positive mentoring experience for students.

Mentor of the Year Award

The Mentor of the Year is an individual who has shown support of the mentoring program and its goals; has demonstrated a genuine interest in mentoring students; is willing to spend time in mentoring students; and has created a positive mentoring experience for students. 

Century Mortar Club Awards

Friend of the College Award

Friend of the College is awarded to individual/s who have provided outstanding support and/or service, shown leadership or the potential for leadership in initiatives, and have demonstrated volunteerism and a high level of participation in activities supporting the College of Pharmacy and its students.

Spirit of the Century Mortar Club Founders' Award

The Spirit of the Century Mortar Club Founders' Award is given in recognition of an individual or group demonstrating the spirit of the CMC Founders in supporting the experiences and opportunities of student pharmacists.

Student Award

For a professional student who has exhibited a commitment to the promotion of the profession of pharmacy and the safe and effective use of medication.

Pre-Game Receptions

Our traditional pre-game homecoming celebration is back! All alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends of the College of Pharmacy are invited to join us:

Saturday, October 1
9-11 a.m.
McNamara Alumni Center
University Hall

This event is free but please RSVP so we can ensure enough food for everyone!

The Weaver Medal

The Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal is given annually and recognizes an individual or group for providing sustained and distinguished support of the College of Pharmacy, or for an outstanding contribution to pharmacy education, practice, research or outreach. Contributions can be in all or any single area recognized by the award.

Samuel W. Melendy Lecture

The Samuel W. Melendy Lecture annual lectureship emphasizes the scientific, ethical and professional aspects of pharmacy. Melendy was a staunch supporter of the College of Pharmacy and as a member of the Minnesota State Pharmaceutical Association, he played an active role in promoting the college's establishment at the University in 1882.

Max and Rose Sadoff Symposium

The Max and Rose Sadoff Symposium on Pharmacy, Law and Bioethics ran from 1992 - 2011. It was created by Robert and Harold Sadoff in memory of their parents, who were 1925 graduates of the College of Pharmacy and who operated a community drugstore in South Minneapolis.