Don Uden Receives Weaver Medal

This distinguished award recognizes service to education, the profession, research and the community

Professor Don Uden, PharmD, received the 2017 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal. The award is given annually to someone who supports the college and its students through service to education, the profession, research and the community.

“It is my greatest honor to have my name associated with this award,” said Uden, who has been a faculty member since 1985. “Larry was a mentor and friend. His vision for what our profession could do inspired me to advance pharmacy practice in an era of its infancy.”

Below are excerpts from Uden’s award nominations:

“I truly believe that there are few with the length, depth and breadth of contribution to the college as Don Uden. His commitment to students, interprofessional education and mentoring very closely mirror those of his first dean, Larry Weaver.” 

"In his practice, teaching and research, Don has always left the silo of pharmacy and geography to collaborate with the rest of the health professional team, faculty, and students across buildings, campuses, and the state. He has been a role model in this regard through his teaching in the rural health school, the immunization tour course with nursing, and through his participation and now leadership as a member of the Academic Health Center’s 1Health team designing and evaluating the University of Minnesota’s interprofessional curriculum. Don has a strong sense of his professional identity and clearly demonstrates and articulates the pharmacist’s contributions to the health care team.”

“He is truly committed to the development of others — practitioners, ‘junior’ faculty, and students. Because of this, he is very generous with his time and talents to help others’ professional growth. His willingness to give of his time, knowledge, and insight to students and colleagues is truly amazing.”

Don Uden

Don Uden (center, seated) joins past Weaver Medal recipients (first row, left to right): Philip Portoghese, Julie Johnson, Dee Weaver, Yusuf Abul-Hajj, Cherie Perlmutter and Marilyn Speedie; (back row): Ron Hadsall, Steve Schondelmeyer, Bruce Benson, Wendy Simenson, Steve Simenson, Jim Cloyd, Tim Stratton, Lowell Anderson, Randy Seifert, Ken Miller and Ron Sawchuk.