Todd Sorensen Named To Peters Chair In Pharmacy Practice Innovation

Todd Sorensen Named To Peters Chair In Pharmacy Practice Innovation

COP - Image - Size 3 - COP - sorensen toddMINNEAPOLIS / ST. PAUL (Dec. 20, 2012) — Todd Sorensen, Pharm.D., FAPhA, professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems (PCHS), has been named the Peters Chair in Pharmacy Practice Innovation, effective Jan. 1, 2013. This position is a rotating, two-year appointment for College of Pharmacy faculty. Sorensen’s appointment was made following an external panel review.

The Peters Chair was established through a gift from William (Bill) and Mildred Peters to stimulate innovation and research that would advance the practice of pharmacy. Bill, a 1910 College of Pharmacy graduate, along with his wife Mildred owned and operated the Lowry Hills Drugstore in Minneapolis for 33 years. 

Sorensen has extensive experience in advancing pharmacy practice, including establishing partnerships with federally-qualified community health centers to expand access to affordable medications and integrate clinical pharmacy services into primary care; creating sustainable pharmacy practices in rural areas and metro ambulatory care clinics; and using residency education as a mechanism to grow pharmacy services in ambulatory care settings.

“The success of the college is in part a reflection of the dynamic nature of pharmacy practice in Minnesota,” said Sorensen. “The Peters Chair is an exciting opportunity to continue our work with the practice community, finding new and mutually beneficial partnerships that advance our respective goals in ways that could not be done independently.”

As the Peters Chair, Sorensen plans to enhance collaboration on medication management innovation between the University and the MTM Health-Systems Administrative Collaborative (M-HAC) to form a vibrant academic-practice partnership focused on improving health outcomes through medication management services. This, in turn, will influence change in health care delivery on local and national levels. The M-HAC group is made up of integrated health systems in Minnesota, including Allina Health System, Essentia Health, Fairview Health Services, FirstLight Health System, Health Partners, Hennepin County Medical Center, Mayo Clinic, North Memorial Medical Center, Park Nicollet Health Services and University of Minnesota Physicians.

Sorensen received his bachelor of science and doctor of pharmacy degrees from the College of Pharmacy. He is a faculty fellow in the college’s Center for Leading Healthcare Change and a graduate faculty member in the Social and Administrative Pharmacy graduate program. He also has served as the director of the Ambulatory Care Residency Program.



Amy Leslie, College of Pharmacy, 612-624-7654,


The College of Pharmacy, the only school of pharmacy in Minnesota, offers its program on the Twin Cities and Duluth campuses. Founded in 1892, the College of Pharmacy educates pharmacists and scientists and engages in research and practice to improve the health of the people of Minnesota and society. The college is part of the Academic Health Center, which is home to the University of Minnesota’s six health professional schools and colleges as well as several health-related centers and institutes.


  • ©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.
  • The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer
  • Last modified on March 27, 2013